Apps, social intranet, digital Workflows: trends for internal communication

Apps, social intranet, digital Workflows: trends for internal communication

Internal communicators have had an eventful time. The Corona crisis put their communication skills to the test. Despite spiralling events and working from home offices, they had to ensure business operations were as undisturbed as possible. The motto here was above all digitalisation. At the same time, the workforces want more opportunities for personal exchange despite the distance. In this way, the crisis becomes an opportunity. Because both developments are forcing sustainable trends for internal communication:

1. more interaction through the social intranet

The new working conditions mean that previous opportunities for social exchange with colleagues are becoming rarer. But the need for community exists! More and more companies are creating the technical conditions for the necessary interaction. Comment functions under contributions in the intranet, online voting or GDPR-compliant instant messaging for companies offer corresponding forums. In this way, decision-makers not only strengthen ties, they also prevent the emergence of shadow IT. This is because private messengers pose a security risk.

2. improved use of established internal communication channels

Communication departments have a variety of internal communication channels at their disposal. But each channel has its own strengths and weaknesses. While digital communication tools score especially well with real-time messaging, traditional channels also remain relevant. It is crucial that you make optimal use of employee newspapers or newsletters. Controlled by a comprehensive concept for internal communication, the strengths of the communication channels complement each other.

3. support for mobile forms of work

As far as the supply of information is concerned, there used to be a considerable gap in many companies. While colleagues in the administration were optimally connected, non-desk employees complained about delayed messages or the insufficient connection to their team. The balance is now changing: because employees in the home office also want to be connected to their employer without being tied to a specific location. The trend in internal communication is therefore towards the mobile employee app. It combines messaging channels with chats and Workflows.

4. digital Workflows (also with AI support)

Remote working has so far pushed paper-based Workflows such as sick leave, holiday applications or hour bookings to the limit. To stay fit for work, companies are putting these standard processes on a digital platform. Record the information on sick leave via data fields and upload a photo of the document to bridge the gap until the original is submitted: Thanks to the ERP interface, Workflowsoptimised in this way also increases efficiency in the HR department. Artificial intelligence (AI) can answer frequent questions from the employee base. In this way, it additionally relieves the workload on humans.

5. networking instead of isolated solutions

Communication by mail, chats on the same topic, relevant files on the internal sharepoint: employees face a growing number of systems. All of them have to be used to fulfil their tasks. The lack of structure of the information or problems with remote access make efficient work difficult. The trend is towards a terminal-independent platform for internal communication that brings all information together.

Conclusion: Using momentum for sustainable improvements

The trends for internal communication show the direction in which things are heading. The approaches are by no means new. However, they are gaining a much higher priority due to the permanent change in the way many companies work. In the future, management must be able to provide all employees with information without delay. At the same time, mobile employees and colleagues working in shifts have increased expectations of involvement in social exchange. As a communicator, you should use the lessons learned from the crisis and consistently improve internal communication. Convince yourself of the opportunities offered by the MEXS communication platform at a demo meeting.

Close menu

Apps, Social Intranet, digitale Workflows: Trends für die interne Kommunikation

Apps, Social Intranet, digitale Workflows: Trends für die interne Kommunikation

Interne Kommunikatoren haben eine ereignisreiche Zeit hinter sich. Die Coronakrise hat ihre Kommunikationsfähigkeit auf eine harte Bewährungsprobe gestellt. Trotz sich überschlagender Ereignisse und der Arbeit im Home Office mussten sie einen möglichst ungestörten Geschäftsbetrieb sicherstellen. Dabei hieß die Devise vor allem Digitalisierung. Gleichzeitig wünschen sich die Belegschaften trotz Distanz mehr Möglichkeiten zum persönlichen Austausch. So wird die Krise zur Chance. Denn beide Entwicklungen forcieren nachhaltige Trends für die interne Kommunikation:

1.    Mehr Interaktion durch das Social Intranet

Die neuen Arbeitsbedingungen lassen bisherige Möglichkeiten für den sozialen Austausch mit Kollegen seltener werden. Doch das Bedürfnis nach Gemeinschaft besteht! Immer mehr Unternehmen schaffen die technischen Voraussetzungen für die nötige Interaktion. Kommentarfunktionen unter Beiträgen im Intranet, Online-Abstimmungen oder DSGVO-konformes Instant Messaging für Unternehmen bieten entsprechende Foren. Damit stärken Entscheider nicht nur die Verbundenheit, sie verhindern auch das Entstehen einer Schatten-IT. Denn private Messenger stellen ein Sicherheitsrisiko dar.

2.    Verbesserte Nutzung etablierter interner Kommunikationskanäle

Kommunikationsabteilungen stehen eine Vielzahl interner Kommunikationskanäle zur Verfügung. Doch jeder Kanal hat seine eigenen Stärken und Schwächen. Während Instrumente der digitalen Kommunikation vor allem durch den Nachrichtenaustausch in Echtzeit punkten, bleiben auch traditionelle Kanäle relevant. Entscheidend ist, dass Sie Mitarbeiterzeitungen oder Newsletter optimal einsetzen. Gesteuert von einem umfassenden Konzept für die interne Kommunikation, ergänzen sich die Stärken der Kommunikationskanäle.

3.    Unterstützung mobiler Arbeitsformen

Was die Informationsversorgung angeht, gab es bisher in vielen Betrieben ein erhebliches Gefälle. Während Kollegen in der Verwaltung bestens angebunden waren, klagten Non-Desk Mitarbeiter über verspätete Nachrichten oder die unzureichende Verbindung zu ihrem Team. Das Gleichgewicht ändert sich nun: Denn auch Mitarbeiter im Home Office wünschen sich die ortsungebundene Anbindung an den Arbeitgeber. Der Trend in der internen Kommunikation geht daher zur mobilen Mitarbeiter-App. Sie verbindet Nachrichtenkanäle mit Chats und Workflows.

4.    Digitale Workflows (auch mit KI-Unterstützung)

Die Arbeit aus der Distanz bringt bisher papierbasierte Workflows wie Krankmeldung, Urlaubsantrag oder Stundenbuchung an die Grenze. Um arbeitsfähig zu bleiben, setzen Unternehmen diese Standardvorgänge auf eine digitale Plattform. Die Informationen zur Krankmeldung über Datenfelder erfassen und für die Überbrückung bis zum Einreichen des Originals ein Foto des Dokuments hochladen: So optimierte Workflows steigern dank ERP-Schnittstelle auch die Effizienz in der HR-Abteilung. Häufige Fragen aus dem Mitarbeiterstamm kann die Künstliche Intelligenz (KI) beantworten. Damit entlastet sie die Menschen zusätzlich.

5.    Vernetzung statt Insellösungen

Kommunikation per Mail, Chats zum selben Thema, relevante Dateien auf dem internen Sharepoint: Mitarbeiter sehen sich einer wachsenden Zahl von Systemen gegenüber. Alle müssen sie nutzen, um ihre Aufgaben zu erfüllen. Die fehlende Struktur der Informationen oder Probleme bei den Zugängen aus der Ferne erschweren die effiziente Arbeit. Der Trend geht zu einer endgeräteunabhängigen Plattform für die interne Kommunikation, die alle Informationen zusammenführt.

Fazit: Dynamik für nachhaltige Verbesserungen nutzen

Die Trends für die interne Kommunikation zeigen, in welche Richtung es geht. Dabei sind die Ansätze keinesfalls neu. Sie gewinnen jedoch durch die dauerhafte Veränderung der Arbeitsweise in vielen Betrieben eine deutlich höhere Priorität. Denn auch in der Zukunft muss die Unternehmensleitung alle Mitarbeiter verzögerungsfrei mit Informationen versorgen können. Mobil arbeitende Mitarbeiter und Kollegen im Schichtdienst stellen gleichzeitig gesteigerte Erwartungen an die Einbindung in den sozialen Austausch. Als Kommunikator sollten Sie die Erkenntnisse aus der Krise nutzen und die interne Kommunikation konsequent verbessern. Überzeugen Sie sich bei einem Demo Meeting davon, welche Chancen die Kommunikationsplattform von MEXS bietet.

Menü schließen