Workflow Optimization: Digitize Workflows
mexs.io Workflow Optimization

Workflow Optimization: Digitize Workflows

When it comes to digitalization, decision-makers in companies think primarily of the automation of production processes. Which software system coordinates the machine processes and how can they become even more flexible through sensor-supported data? These are the questions that are often asked. What all too often takes a back seat is the optimization of Workflows for the employees. Communication without media discontinuity and the integration of conversations or processes on one platform offer considerable potential. Read here how you can release productivity by optimizing Workflows .

Leveraging the often forgotten potential of digitization

Employees often perceive the existing work methods and tools as inefficient. This results from the distribution of Workflows across different systems. At the same time, there is a lack of interfaces. It is not uncommon for data to have to be entered or changed manually several times.

What's the biggest barrier to your productivity? This question was posed by the IT service provider ADP to more than 10,000 European employees as part of the study The Workforce View in Europe 2019. In the survey, 18 percent of respondents cited inefficient systems and processes. Only poor management received more mentions. Slow and inadequate technology came in fourth place.

Let's think of a process for approving a quotation in sales: The employee creates the draft quotation, but is not allowed to send it until it has been checked by the sales manager. The sales manager comments or makes additions. After the revision and another approval loop, the offer is sent.

In an optimally designed workflow, these steps run on a centrally stored digital document. At the same time, the workflow platform offers the possibility to exchange topic-related voice messages or files. This reduces the internal processing time, prevents errors and the customer is happy about a quick feedback.

These are the steps to more process efficiency

The release of a quotation is a simple example. But especially frequently executed processes benefit from optimized Workflows. For example, a digitized delivery note can be the starting point for several Workflows in different systems: In the warehouse, the goods receipt posting takes place, while inspection processes are triggered at the same time via the platform.

These steps include the introduction of a workflow system for the optimization of processes:

  1. Analyze processes and requirements
  2. Model processes
  3. Launch new Workflows
  4. Monitor results

Three central requirements for the workflow platform

Platforms for fully digital Workflows can make daily work easier for employees in all areas. Three factors determine how quickly and sustainably the system boosts productivity:

  1. Interfaces : They connect the platform to the existing system landscape. Above all, CRM systems, the central ERP and IoT applications can be integrated into Workflows in this way. On the one hand, they provide information for the process and, on the other hand, carry out transactions from the workflow.
  2. User interface: Private messengers and social media apps shape user expectations. They expect the same standard from a system for the industry. This applies to the technical possibilities as well as the intuitive operation.
  3. Flexible hosting: When it comes to data security, costs and scalability, companies want to stay true to their line. Some prefer hosting in the provider's Cloud (Saas), others give preference to installation on the company's own servers.

Fast and secure implementation: This is also a quality of powerful software solutions. This allows you to focus your energy on the internal change process for the conversion of Workflows . See for yourself how low the barriers are with MEXS. This is ensured by the predefined Workflows and the Connector Library. Click here to register for the 30-day trial version of MEXS.

Close menu

Workflow-Optimierung: Arbeitsabläufe digitalisieren
mexs.io Workflow Optimierung

Workflow-Optimierung: Arbeitsabläufe digitalisieren

Wenn es um die Digitalisierung geht, denken Entscheider in Unternehmen vor allem an die Automatisierung von Produktionsabläufen. Welches Softwaresystem koordiniert die maschinellen Vorgänge und wie können sie durch sensorgestützte Daten noch flexibler werden? Das sind die präsenten Fragestellung. Was dabei viel zu oft in den Hintergrund rückt, ist die Optimierung der Workflows für die Mitarbeiter. Medienbruchfreie Kommunikation und die Integration von Konversationen bzw. Prozessen auf einer Plattform bieten erhebliche Potentiale. Hier lesen Sie, wie Sie durch die Optimierung von Workflows Produktivität freisetzen.

Oft vergessene Potenziale der Digitalisierung heben

Mitarbeiter nehmen die bestehenden Arbeitsweisen und Tools häufig als nicht effizient wahr. Das resultiert aus der Verteilung der Workflows auf verschiedene Systeme. Gleichzeitig fehlen die Schnittstellen. Nicht selten müssen Daten mehrmals manuell erfasst oder verändert werden.

Was ist die größte Hürde für Ihre Produktivität? Diese Frage stellte der IT-Dienstleister ADP im Rahmen der Studie The Workforce View in Europe 2019 mehr als 10.000 europäischen Arbeitnehmern. Dabei gaben 18 Prozent der Befragten ineffiziente Systeme und Prozesse an. Mehr Nennungen erhielt nur noch schlechtes Management. Langsame und unzulängliche Technologie landete auf dem vierten Platz.

Denken wir an einen Prozess zur Angebotsfreigabe im Vertrieb: Der Mitarbeiter erstellt den Angebotsentwurf, darf ihn aber erst nach der Prüfung durch den Vertriebsleiter versenden. Dieser kommentiert oder macht Ergänzungen. Nach der Überarbeitung und einer erneuten Freigabeschleife erfolgt der Versand.

In einem optimal gestalteten Workflow laufen diese Schritte an einem zentral gespeicherten digitalen Dokument ab. Gleichzeitig bietet die Workflow-Plattform die Möglichkeit, themenbezogen auch Sprachnachrichten oder Dateien auszutauschen. Das reduziert die interne Bearbeitungszeit, verhindert Fehler und der Kunde freut sich über eine schnelle Rückmeldung.

Das sind die Schritte zu mehr Prozesseffizienz

Die Angebotsfreigabe ist ein einfaches Beispiel. Doch gerade häufig ausgeführte Prozesse profitieren von optimierten Workflows. Ein digitalisierter Lieferschein kann beispielsweise der Ausgangspunkt für mehrere Workflows in unterschiedlichen Systemen sein: Im Lager erfolgt die Wareneingangsbuchung, während über die Plattform gleichzeitig Prüfprozesse angestoßen werden.

In diesen Schritten erfolgt die Einführung eines Workflow-Systems für die Optimierung der Prozesse:

  1. Prozesse und Anforderungen analysieren
  2. Abläufe modellieren
  3. Neue Workflows einführen
  4. Ergebnisse überwachen

Drei zentrale Anforderungen an die Workflow-Plattform

Plattformen für vollständig digitale Workflows können den Mitarbeitern aller Bereiche die tägliche Arbeit erleichtern. Drei Faktoren entscheiden darüber, wie schnell und nachhaltig das System die Produktivität ankurbelt:

  1. Schnittstellen: Sie binden die Plattform an die bestehende Systemlandschaft an. Vor allem CRM-Systeme, das zentrale ERP und IoT-Anwendungen können so in die Workflows integriert werden. Sie liefern einerseits Informationen für den Prozess und führen andererseits aus dem Workflow heraus Transaktionen durch.
  2. User Interface: Private Messenger und Social-Media-Apps prägen die Erwartungen der Nutzer. Von einem System für die Industrie erwarten sie den selben Standard. Das gilt für die technischen Möglichkeiten genauso wie für die intuitive Bedienung.
  3. Flexibles Hosting: In Sachen Datensicherheit, Kosten und Skalierbarkeit wollen Unternehmen ihrer Linie treu bleiben. Einige bevorzugen das Hosting in der Cloud des Anbieters (Saas), andere geben der Installation auf den unternehmenseigenen Servern den Vorzug.

Schnelle und sichere Implementation: Auch das ist eine Qualität leistungsfähiger Softwarelösungen. So können Sie Ihre Energie auf den internen Change-Prozess zur Umstellung von Workflows fokussieren. Überzeugen Sie sich selbst davon, wie niedrig die Barrieren bei MEXS liegen. Dafür sorgen die vordefinierten Workflows und die Connector Bibliothek. Hier geht es zur Anmeldung für die 30 Tage Testversion von MEXS.

Menü schließen