How to reduce costs and increase service quality? By building up a knowledge database!

How to reduce costs and increase service quality? By building up a knowledge database!

What are the signs that the machine is about to be damaged? What is the most efficient way to exclude common causes of malfunctions? Your long-standing service employees have the answers to these questions. The need for this knowledge is constant, because manufacturing companies are placing an increasing focus on the service business. But what happens when precisely these employees leave the company? Many companies respond to this question by building up their own service knowledge base. In this article you will learn how this tool can reduce costs and increase service quality.

Knowledge databases for the service at a glance

A knowledge database stores the knowledge of your application experts in a structured form. This prevents it from being forgotten or lost. By introducing a knowledge database, you create consistency in the service. New team members also immediately have access to the wealth of experience that has grown. This considerably reduces the time and effort required for familiarisation. In addition, you can give your customers direct access to the knowledge. In this way, they can research approaches to solving problems themselves in the sense of self-service.

How closely knowledge management in service is linked to the dimensions of quality and costs can be illustrated by the first contact resolution rate. This service KPI describes the proportion of customer enquiries that the service team is able to resolve directly at the first touchpoint, the so-called first-level support. Customers expect this successful first contact. But only if the service provider optimally manages the required knowledge can it offer this at acceptable costs.

The first-time resolution rate varies greatly depending on the service provider's industry. While it is not uncommon for B2C providers to achieve rates of 70 per cent, the key figure for companies in the B2B environment is significantly lower. The decisive factor is the disproportionately higher complexity of products and services for business users. Service staff often have to travel to the customer for the final problem solution. This leaves a lot of room for improving the service level while at the same time reducing costs. Knowledge management takes on a central role here.

Advantages of a knowledge database for the service

As they equally address the levers of quality and cost levers, knowledge bases become a strategic tool for service. These are the main advantages of a knowledge base:

  • Making expert knowledge independent of people: Experienced generations of employees are retiring. Use the remaining time to preserve their knowledge.
  • Customers want more self-service: By giving your customers access to the knowledge base, you make them independent of your service hours.
  • Reduce response times: If the service employee has to arrange a callback or send a colleague to the customer, this costs valuable time. In the B2B sector, we are not just talking about an annoyance, but about quantifiable downtime costs.
  • Relieve service staff: Online service channels are becoming increasingly important. Not only humans, but also software robots can access a knowledge database. Based on a knowledge database, you can build a chatbot for first-level support.

Building online channels for service with the knowledge base

Many factors speak in favour of building up a knowledge database. Preserve valuable expert knowledge and make it available to your service organisation. At the same time, knowledge databases strengthen the increasingly important online channels for service, whether self-service or requests to chatbots. The knowledge database is one of many examples: Read more about how digital solutions open up new opportunities for customer service and internal communication in the MEXS blog.

Close menu

Wie Kosten senken und Servicequalität steigern? Indem Sie eine Wissensdatenbank aufbauen!

Wie Kosten senken und Servicequalität steigern? Indem Sie eine Wissensdatenbank aufbauen!

Welche Anzeichen kündigen an, dass sich ein Schaden an der Maschine anbahnt? Wie lassen sich bei einem Defekt häufige Störungsursachen am effizientesten ausschließen? Die Antworten auf diese Fragen haben Ihre langjährigen Servicemitarbeiter. Der Bedarf an diesem Wissen ist konstant, denn produzierende Unternehmen legen einen immer stärkeren Fokus auf das Servicegeschäft. Doch was, wenn genau diese Mitarbeiter das Unternehmen verlassen? Viele Unternehmen reagieren auf diese Frage, indem sie eine eigene Wissensdatenbank für den Service aufbauen. In diesem Beitrag erfahren Sie, wie dieses Werkzeug Kosten senken und die Servicequalität steigern kann.

Wissensdatenbanken für den Service im Überblick

Eine Wissensdatenbank speichert das Wissen Ihrer Anwendungsexperten in einer strukturierten Form. So wird es vor Vergessen oder Verlust bewahrt. Indem Sie eine Wissensdatenbank einführen, schaffen Sie Konstanz im Service. Auch neue Teammitglieder verfügen sofort über den gewachsenen Erfahrungsschatz. Das senkt den Aufwand zur Einarbeitung erheblich. Daneben können Sie Ihren Kunden den direkten Zugriff auf das Wissen ermöglichen. So können sie im Sinne des Self-Service selbst nach Ansätzen zur Problemlösung recherchieren.

Wie eng das Wissensmanagement im Service mit den Dimensionen von Qualität und Kosten verbunden ist, lässt sich anhand der Erstlösungsquote (engl. First Contact Resolution) verdeutlichen. Der Service-KPI beschreibt den Anteil der Kundenanfragen, die das Serviceteam direkt beim ersten Touchpoint, dem sogenannten First-Level-Support, lösen kann. Kunden erwarten diesen erfolgreichen Erstkontakt. Doch nur wenn der Service-Anbieter das erforderliche Wissen optimal managt, kann er das bei akzeptablen Kosten bieten.

Die Erstlösungsquote schwankt stark in Abhängigkeit von der Branche der Serviceanbieter. Während B2C-Anbieter nicht selten Quoten von 70 Prozent erzielen, liegt die Kennzahl für Unternehmen im B2B-Umfeld deutlich darunter. Ausschlaggebend ist die ungleich höhere Komplexität von Produkten und Dienstleistungen für geschäftliche Anwender. Oft müssen sich für die finale Problemlösung Servicemitarbeiter auf den Weg zum Kunden machen. Das lässt viel Spielraum für eine Verbesserung des Servicelevels bei der gleichzeitigen Senkung von Kosten. Das Wissensmanagement nimmt hier eine zentrale Bedeutung ein.

Vorteile einer Wissensdatenbank für den Service

Da sie gleichermaßen an den Hebeln von Qualität und Kosten Hebeln ansetzen, werden Wissensdatenbanken zum strategischen Werkzeug für den Service. Das sind die wichtigsten Vorteile einer Wissensdatenbank:

  • Expertenwissen unabhängig von Personen machen: Erfahrene Generationen von Mitarbeitern verabschieden sich in den Ruhestand. Nutzen Sie die verbleibende Zeit, um ihr Wissen zu konservieren.
  • Kunden wünschen sich mehr Self-Service: Indem Sie Ihren Kunden Zugriff auf die Wissensdatenbank geben, machen Sie diese unabhängig von Ihren Servicezeiten.
  • Reaktionszeiten senken: Muss der Servicemitarbeiter einen Rückruf vereinbaren oder einen Kollegen zum Kunden schicken, kostet das wertvolle Zeit. Im B2B-Bereich sprechen wir nicht nur von einem Ärgernis, sondern von quantifizierbaren Stillstandskosten.
  • Servicemitarbeiter entlasten: Online-Servicekanäle werden immer wichtiger. Nicht nur Menschen, sondern auch Software-Roboter können auf eine Wissensdatenbank zugreifen. Auf Basis einer Wissensdatenbank können Sie einen Chatbot für den First-Level-Support aufbauen.

Mit der Wissensdatenbank Online-Kanäle für den Service aufbauen

Viele Faktoren sprechen für den Aufbau einer Wissensdatenbank. Bewahren Sie wertvolles Expertenwissen und stellen Sie es Ihrer Serviceorganisation zur Verfügung. Gleichzeitig stärken Wissensdatenbanken die immer wichtiger werdenden Onlinekanäle für den Service, egal ob Self-Service oder Anfrage an den Chatbot. Die Wissensdatenbank ist eines von vielen Beispielen: Im MEXS-Blog lesen Sie mehr dazu, wie digitale Lösungen neue Chancen für den Kundenservice und die interne Kommunikation eröffnen.

Menü schließen